Cosco Topside Booster Car Seat (BC030)

$27.82

Price on Amazon.com as of 2026-11-02 09:11 UTC, and subject to change.

A backless booster seat with one mode: backless belt-positioning booster 40 to 100 lb, 43.4 to 57 in.

At a glance

  • Fits children from 40 to 100 lb
  • Up to 57 in tall
  • Backless belt-positioning booster only
Check the current price

Opens Amazon.com in a new tab. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED ‘AS IS’ AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

Specifications checked against Cosco’s US site and manual on . Not hands-on tested. How I research

Who is the Topside Booster Car Seat (BC030) for?

The Cosco Topside BC030 is a backless belt-positioning booster that Cosco lists for children 40 to 100 lb and 43.4 to 57 inches tall. Its linked manual, an older edition, gives 43 to 57 inches and at least 4 years old. It uses only the lap and shoulder belt, has no LATCH, and is not certified for aircraft use.

Reasons to consider it

  • Children 40 to 100 lb and 43.4 to 57 in, per the product page
  • A simple booster to move between cars, since only the seat belt holds it
  • A seat pad that can be machine washed if it carries a machine-washable tag

Things to weigh up

  • The linked manual adds a minimum age of 4 years and states 43 in, not 43.4 in
  • The manual gives an expiration date on the seat, not a number of years
  • Cosco's page lists both a machine-washable pad and a hand-wash-only cover, so check the tag
  • Not certified for aircraft use

My take on the Topside Booster Car Seat (BC030)

The BC030 suits the same child as the newer Topside BC214: past the harness stage, in a lap and shoulder belt position, with vehicle head support at ear level. The main gap is documentation. Its linked manual is an older edition that does not state a number of years before expiry, so you need to read the expiration date on the bottom of the seat. The current BC214 manual, by contrast, states 10 years. Against the BC214, the product pages list the same limits, but only the BC214 page claims three-across fit.

A research summary of Cosco’s published specifications and manual, read . Not a hands-on test or a crash-safety rating.

Who the Topside Booster Car Seat (BC030) fits

This seat covers one stage. Check the date label on the shell before using a hand-me-down; every seat has an expiry.

Backless belt-positioning booster40 to 100 lb · 43.4 to 57 in
Only the base is left, so the vehicle seat has to support the child’s back and head, and the belt guide sits at the hip.

What are the Topside Booster Car Seat (BC030) weight, height and age limits?

Cosco Topside Booster Car Seat (BC030) limits by mode
ModeChild weightChild heightMinimum ageConditions
Backless belt-positioning booster40 to 100 lb43.4 to 57 inNot published—

A child must meet every limit for the mode they use. The labels on your seat and its manual are the final word.

Topside Booster Car Seat (BC030) specifications

Seat weight
Not published
Width
Not published
Usable life
See the date label on the seat
Aircraft use
Not certified for aircraft
An empty car seat installed on a back seat, seen through an open car door

Will it fit your car?

Cosco does not publish a width for this seat, so measure your back seat and compare it with the seat in a store before buying.

  • Check your vehicle manual for lower anchor positions and any head-restraint rules.
  • Rear-facing seats need front-seat room: try the install behind the driver before you commit.
  • Not certified for aircraft use: plan on gate-checking it or using a different seat to fly.

What features does the Topside Booster Car Seat (BC030) have?

  • Backless booster

Colors listed in the US

Rainbow, Grape.

Where Cosco’s page and manual disagree

  • Product page: 43.4; Manual: 43
  • Manual: at least 4 years old (48 months)

When they differ, follow the manual and the labels on your seat.

What to know before you live with it

Limits in the manual versus the product page

The product page lists 40 to 100 lb and 43.4 to 57 in. The linked BC030 manual is an older edition, with a mail-order parts form, and it gives 40 to 100 lb, 43 to 57 in and at least 4 years old. I would follow the stricter combination: the child should meet the age, weight and height minimums together. The manual also says not to use the booster if the tops of the child's ears are above the top of the vehicle seat back or headrest.

Source: Cosco Topside Booster manual, BC030 edition (PDF)

Seat belts and positions

The manual requires a vehicle lap and shoulder belt and says not to use the lap belt alone. It also rules out belts mounted in the center of the door or side panel and belts in front of the seat bight. Use it only on forward-facing vehicle seats. The lap portion goes under both armrests and across the thighs. This edition says the shoulder belt must go over the armrest on the vehicle buckle side, which differs from Cosco's newer Topside sheet, so I would follow the manual that came with your booster. If the shoulder belt crosses the neck, the manual suggests moving the booster toward the center of the vehicle or moving the vehicle seat forward or back.

Source: Cosco Topside Booster manual, BC030 edition (PDF)

Washing depends on the tag

The manual gives two cleaning methods. If the pad has a machine-washable tag, machine wash it separately in cold water on a gentle cycle and tumble dry it separately for 10 to 12 minutes on low heat. If it has no such tag, hand wash it in warm sudsy water, rinse, and air dry. No bleach, harsh cleaners or dry cleaning. To refit it, slip the pad over the armrests and around the back of the shell, then pull it over the front. Do not use the booster without the pad.

Source: Cosco Topside Booster manual, BC030 edition (PDF)

Is the Topside Booster Car Seat (BC030) recalled?

No campaign in the current NHTSA child-restraint data names this model family, and I have not run a separate review for it. Check your seat’s model number and date of manufacture before use.

NHTSA recall search · Recent car seat recalls

Topside Booster Car Seat (BC030): common questions

What are the Topside BC030 weight and height limits?

Cosco's product page lists 40 to 100 lb and 43.4 to 57 in. The linked manual gives 40 to 100 lb and 43 to 57 in, and adds that the child must be at least 4 years old.

Cosco Topside Booster Car Seat (BC030) product page (opens in a new tab)

When does the Topside BC030 expire?

The linked manual says there is an expiration date on the bottom of the booster and not to use it after that date. It does not state a number of years, so read the label on your seat.

Cosco Topside Booster manual, BC030 edition (PDF) (opens in a new tab)

Is the Topside BC030 cover machine washable?

Cosco's page lists a machine-washable, dryer-safe seat pad and also says the fabric cover is hand-wash only. The manual resolves this by the tag: machine wash only if the pad has a machine-washable tag, otherwise hand wash and air dry.

Cosco Topside Booster manual, BC030 edition (PDF) (opens in a new tab)

Can the Topside BC030 be used on a plane?

The manual says it is not certified for aircraft use, because aircraft seats do not have shoulder belts.

Cosco Topside Booster manual, BC030 edition (PDF) (opens in a new tab)

How is the BC030 different from the Topside BC214?

Both pages list 40 to 100 lb and 43.4 to 57 in. The BC214 page also says its slim design fits three across the back seat of most vehicles, which the BC030 page does not claim.

Cosco Topside Booster Car Seat (BC214) product page (opens in a new tab)

Answers refer to the model and manual version on this page. Check the instructions supplied with your seat.

Before you buy

  1. Weigh and measure your child. The limits above are the manufacturer’s, and a child has to meet all of them for the mode they will use.
  2. Confirm the exact version. Colors, retail exclusives and model numbers change limits more often than you would expect; Cosco lists 2 colors of this seat.
  3. Read the manual before you buy, not after. It is linked above and holds the fit rules, the install methods and the expiry.
  4. Check recalls by model number and date of manufacture, and register the seat with Cosco so you hear about the next one.

Sources

Other Cosco booster seats

ModelTop child weightSeat weightWidthUsable life
Topside Booster Car Seat (BC030) (this seat)100 lb———
Finale 2-in-1 Booster Car Seat100 lb——10 years
Finale DX 2-in-1 Booster Car Seat100 lb——10 years
Pronto! Trend Belt-Positioning Booster Car Seat100 lb——10 years
Rise LX Booster Car Seat100 lb——10 years
Topside Booster Car Seat (BC214)100 lb——10 years